Herfoss remains in ASBK contention after Morgan Park race podium

Crankt Protein Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss managed to place his CBR1000RR SP2 on the race two podium in today’s Morgan Park round of the 2017 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

After qualifying second fastest and displaying impressive race pace throughout the Queensland weekend, Herfoss made an uncharacteristic mistake in the first 16-lap affair and crashed out of third position on lap five.

The defending number one plate-holder was able to rebound in style later this afternoon – live on free-to-air national television – by challenging for victory, leading five laps in the mid-stages and crossing the line in P3.

Despite his DNF in race one today and taking 10th overall, Herfoss is now second in the championship standings and just five points from the lead with two rounds remaining. He also set a new Morgan Park race lap record of 1m13.317s in that opening encounter.

It was a disappointing day for Crankt Protein Honda Racing teammate Bryan Staring, who also showed front-running speed and qualified fourth fastest on Saturday, but was ruled out of contention in both races on Sunday.

In the first race, the 2010 title winner was inside the top five when he encountered troubles and was forced to pit, while in race two he was as high as second on lap two when he slid out of the battle. He’s now seventh in points.

The 2017 Australian Superbike Championship will now travel directly to Sydney Motorsport Park in New South Wales for the penultimate round six on 8-10 September.

2017 ASBK Rd5 Morgan Park results:
1. Wayne MAXWELL 45
2. Cru HALLIDAY 44
3. Josh WATERS 34
4. Corey TURNER 33
5. Glenn ALLERTON 28
6. Alex PHILLIS 28
7. Mitch LEVY 25
8. Michael BLAIR 23
9. Ryan YANKO 19
10. Troy HERFOSS (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 18

2017 ASBK championship standings:
1. Wayne MAXWELL 193
2. Troy HERFOSS (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 188
3. Robert BUGDEN 172
4. Daniel FALZON 171
5. Josh WATERS 169
6. Cru HALLIDAY 154
7. Bryan STARING (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 131
8. Corey TURNER 114
9. Mitch LEVY 103
10. Beau BEATON 92

To stay up to date with the Crankt Protein Honda Racing team, visit the team’s official website at www.teamhondaracing.com.au or follow @teamhondaracing on social media.